06.12.2000

The Uni goes on air – Hertz 87,9 starts on its own frequency

On 6 December 2000, campus radio Hertz 87.9 goes on air with its own frequency, broadcasting live on stage in the University central hall during the Westend party. However, the history of campus radio goes back to 1992 when the University radio ‘Uni-Funk’ was launched.

Opening of the facilities of the University radio Hertz 87.9 in November 2000.

Photo: Klaus Halbe
Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01654

The radio project ‘Uni-Funk’ was launched by the Faculty of Linguistics and Literary Studies (LiLi), the Faculty of Pedagogy and the Rektorat, initially as a programme scheduled regularly on community radio at Radio Bielefeld, and produced in the recording studio of the LiLi faculty. Up until 1995, twenty-one programmes were broadcast on varied themes, such as on Luhmann’s theories, on the extended semester ticket or on the student fraternity Normannia Nibelungen. From 1995, a change to the law in NRW allowed university members to run non-profit radio stations.

‘Uni-Funk’ radio programme with a review of the years 1992 to 1995.

Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, TDS 152

In the years after 1995, members of the radio project ‘Uni-Funk’ concentrated their efforts on finding sponsors in order to secure funds for a radio station. The Westfälisch-Lippische Universitätgesellschaft (University Society) provided 10,000 DM for the acquisition of studio equipment. This was the beginning of Hertz 87.9 which, after several years of planning, has been on air since December 2000.

Launch of campus radio Hertz 87.9 with a live broadcast from the University central hall on 6 December 2000 at a Westend party. The Hertz band plays on stage.

Photo: Norma Langohr
Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01659

The Bielefeld campus radio station is supported by an association called Hertz 87.9 e.V., in which Bielefeld University, the University of Applied Sciences and the two AStAs (Student Unions) of both institutions are represented. However, a student editorial team with an editor-in chief at the helm is largely responsible for organising the station and its programmes. The majority of the team work for the radio station on a voluntary basis. At the same time, Hertz 87.9 also has an educational role: in internships and seminars, novices learn the basics of radio journalism. Students and pupils can also complete an internship at Hertz 87.9 recognised by university faculties and vocational schools. Radio Hertz is financed through the semester fees of the students.

Report from Campus TV (programme no. 55, 2010) on the student radio Hertz 87.9

Source: Universität Bielefeld, Campus TV

06.12.2000

Die Uni geht on air – Hertz 87.9 startet auf eigener Frequenz

Am 6. Dezember 2000 geht das CampusRadio Hertz 87.9 auf eigener Frequenz auf Sendung: live aus der zentralen Halle von einer Bühne während der an diesem Tag stattfindenden Westendparty. Die Geschichte des CampusRadios reicht allerdings bis ins Jahr 1992 zurück, als der sogenannte Uni-Funk an den Start ging.

Eröffnung der Räumlichkeiten des Uniradios Hertz 87.9 im November 2000.

Fotograf: Klaus Halbe
Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01654

Das Projekt Uni-Funk wurde von der Fakultät für Linguistik und Literaturwissenschaft (LiLi), der Fakultät für Pädagogik und dem Rektorat ins Leben gerufen, zunächst als regelmäßige Sendung im Bürgerfunk bei Radio Bielefeld, die im Tonstudio der LiLi-Fakultät produziert wurde. Bis 1995 wurden so 21 Sendungen zu verschiedensten Themen, wie z.B. zu Luhmanns Theorien, zum erweiterten Semesterticket oder zur Burschenschaft Normannia Nibelungen ausgestrahlt. Ab 1995 ermöglichte eine Gesetzesänderung in NRW, dass Mitglieder von Hochschulen nichtkommerzielle Radiosender betreiben dürfen.

Uni-Funk-Sendung mit einem Rückblick auf die Jahre 1992 bis 1995.

Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, TDS 152

In den Jahren ab 1995 bemühten sich Mitglieder des Uni-Funk-Projektes verstärkt darum, Geldgeber zu finden, um die Finanzierung eines Radiosenders sicherzustellen. Die Westfälisch-Lippische Universitätsgesellschaft stellte 10.000 Mark für die Anschaffung der Studioausrüstung zur Verfügung. Dies war der Startschuss für Hertz 87.9, der nach mehrjähriger Planungsphase seit Dezember 2000 auf Sendung ist.

Start des CampusRadios Hertz 87.9 mit einer Live-Übertragung aus der Universitätshalle am 6. Dezember 2000. Veranstaltung im Rahmen einer Westendparty, auf der Bühne spielt die Hertz-Band.

Fotografin: Norma Langohr
Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01659

Getragen wird das Bielefelder CampusRadio von einem Verein namens Hertz 87.9 e.V., dem die Universität, die Fachhochschule Bielefeld und der AStA der Universität sowie der Fachhochschule Bielefeld angehören. Maßgeblich verantwortlich für die Organisation des Senders und des Programms ist jedoch ein studentisches Redaktionsteam mit einer Chefredaktion an der Spitze. Die Mehrheit des Teams arbeitet ehrenamtlich für den Sender. Gleichzeitig ist Hertz 87.9 ein Ausbildungsradio: In Praktika und Seminaren werden die Basics des Radiojournalismus an Neulinge vermittelt. Studierende, Schülerinnen und Schüler können außerdem bei Hertz 87.9 ein von Fakultäten der Universität und Berufsschulen anerkanntes Praktikum absolvieren. Finanziert wird Radio Hertz durch Semesterbeiträge der Studierenden.

Beitrag von Campus TV zum Studentenradio Hertz 87.9, 2010.

Quelle: Universität Bielefeld, Campus TV