24.07.1967

“The University will be a reform university”

On 24 October 1967, the North Rhine-Westphalian State Government decides that “in the development of Bielefeld University (…) the recommendations made by the founding committee for Bielefeld University on 24 July 1967 should form the basis for further planning”. These recommendations emphatically characterise the University as a “reform university”, its establishment intended to help remedy the so-called “Bildungskatastrophe” (“educational catastrophe”) of the post-war period through far-reaching reform initiatives in the areas of organisation, research, study and teaching.

Meeting of the founding committee at the Sparrenburg on 13 June 1966 with representatives of the city and district of Bielefeld. Dr. Joachim Wolfgang von Moltke (Director of Kunsthalle Bielefeld), Professor Dr. Harald Weinrich, unknown, Professor Dr. Helmut Schelsky, Eberhard Freiherr von Medem, Professor Dr. Otto Wegner (Assistant Secretary of Education and Cultural Affairs), Professor Dr. Horst Rollnik, Professor Dr. Werner Conze, Else Zimmermann (District Administrator), Professor Dr. Ernst-Joachim Mestmäcker (from left to right).

Photo: Freie Presse
Source: Stadtarchiv und Landesgeschichtliche Bibliothek Bielefeld

A successful personnel policy

In November 1965, the founding committee and the scientific advisory board were established as the two constitutive bodies for the “university in the area of East-Westphalia”. In contrast to the founding committees of other new universities of the 1960s, Helmut Schelsky’s selection of personnel included younger scientists who were open to reform, rather than already established scholars. These up-and-coming academics would, ideally, be willing to accept a professorship at the university they were planning.

After only a few months, on March 1, 1966, the founding committee presented with the “structural characteristics of the new university in East Westphalia”, the structural and reform concept of an entire – albeit small – university. This concept was unanimously approved as the “constitutional basis” of the University at the “Schwaghof Conference” in March 1967, which paved the way for the subsequent development.

  • During the closed meeting at the Schwaghof in Bad Salzuflen on 9 March 1967. Eberhard Freiherr Von Medem, State Secretary for Education and Culture Professor Dr. Hermann Lübbe, the Lord Mayor of Bielefeld Herbert Hinnendahl, the Bielefeld Transport Director Josef Fuchs and Professor Dr. Helmut Schelsky (from left to right).

    Photo: Ed. Heidmann
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01884.
  • Lecture by sociologist Professor Dr. Heinz Hartmann at the Schwaghof Conference in Bad Salzuflen on March 9, 1967.

    Photo: Ed. Heidmann
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01885
  • Meeting of the founding committee of Bielefeld University on October 12, 1968, at Lampe Bank in Bielefeld: University Chancellor Dr. Eberhard Firnhaber (back left), chairman of the founding committee Professor Dr. Ernst Joachim Mestmäcker (centre right), Professor Dr. Harald Weinrich (top of the table).

    Photo: Ed. Heidmann
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01886
  • Meeting of the founding committee of Bielefeld University on October 12, 1968 at Lampe Bank in Bielefeld.

    Photo: Ed. Heidmann
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01887
  • The sociologists Professor Dr. Niklas Luhmann and Professor Dr. Franz-Xaver Kaufmann at the joint meeting of the founding committee and the scientific advisory board in the town hall of Bielefeld on 27 January 1969

    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01888.
  • Joint meeting of the founding committee and scientific advisory board at Bielefeld Town Hall on January 27, 1969, from left to right: Professor Dr. Helmut Schelsky, Professor Hartmut von Hentig PhD, Professor Horst Rollnik, Professor Dr. Friedrich Hirzebruch and Professor Dr. Karl Peter Grotemeyer

    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01907.

Reform University

With the decision of the state government in October 1967, the founding committee, the scientific advisory board and the departmental commissions responsible for the individual subjects began to determine the specific structural features of the University. Innovative institutions such as the Center for Interdisciplinary Research and the Centre for Science and Professional Practice were presented to the public. The principle of defining transversal topical foci for all faculties and research areas was also outlined. Certain catchwords that distilled the concept of reforms planned for the new University in the areas of research and the teaching caused a sensation in German higher education and science. For example, “research as the official duty of professors” and the related concept of an “annual alternation of teaching and researching” or the “structural numerus clausus” (a fixed supervision ratio from one professor to thirty students), were just as sensational as the idea of “increasing the efficiency of education”. It was therefore not surprising that these structural characteristics were hotly debated – against the background of the growing student protest movement and the mass influx of students this was to be expected.

However, it soon became apparent that it would be impossible to implement the bold reform ideas to the letter.

Excerpt from the speech of the North Rhine-Westphalian Minister of Culture and chairman of the founding committee Professor Dr. Paul Mikat on the occasion of the constituent assembly of the founding committee for an East Westphalian university, in Düsseldorf on 11 November 1965.

Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, TDS 1.

Tags

Gründung

24.07.1967

„Die Universität soll eine Reformuniversität sein“

Am 24. Oktober 1967 beschließt das nordrhein-westfälische Landeskabinett, dass „beim Aufbau der Universität Bielefeld … die Empfehlungen, die der Gründungsausschuss für die Universität Bielefeld an 24.7.1967 beschlossen hat, die Grundlage der weiteren Planung bilden“ sollen. In ihnen wird die zur gründende Universität ausdrücklich als eine „Reformuniversität“ charakterisiert, die durch weitreichende Reformansätze in den Bereichen Organisation, Forschung, Studium und Lehre dazu beitragen soll, die sogenannte Bildungskatastrophe der Nachkriegszeit zu beheben.

Tagung des Gründungsausschusses auf der Sparrenburg am 13. Juni 1966 mit Vertretern von Stadt und Landkreis Bielefeld. V.l.n.r.: Dr. Joachim Wolfgang von Moltke (Direktor der Kunsthalle Bielefeld), Prof. Dr. Harald Weinrich, unbekannt, Prof. Dr. Helmut Schelsky, Eberhard Frh. von Medem, Prof Dr. Otto Wegner (Ministerialdirigent im Kultusministerium), Prof. Dr. Horst Rollnik, Prof. Dr. Werner Conze, Else Zimmermann (Landrätin), Prof. Dr. Ernst-Joachim Mestmäcker.

Foto: Freie Presse
Quelle: Stadtarchiv und Landesgeschichtliche Bibliothek Bielefeld

Gelungene Personalpolitik
Im November 1965 konstituierten sich die Gründungsgremien der „Universität im ostwestfälischen Raum“: Gründungsausschuss und Wissenschaftlicher Beirat. Die gelungene Personalauswahl Schelskys wies – im Gegensatz zu den Gründungsausschüssen anderer Neugründungen der 1960er Jahre – weniger etablierte Gelehrte als vielmehr jüngere, vielversprechende und reformoffene Wissenschaftler auf, die im Idealfall bereit sein sollten, einen Ruf an die von ihnen geplante Universität anzunehmen.

Nach nur wenigen Monaten legte der Gründungsausschuss am 1. März 1966 mit den „Strukturmerkmalen der neuen Universität in Ostwestfalen“ das Struktur- und Reformkonzept einer ganzen – wenn auch kleinen – Universität vor, das auf der wegweisenden „Schwaghof-Tagung“ im März 1967 als „verfassungsmäßige Grundlage“ der Universität einhellig gebilligt wurde.

  • Während der Klausurtagung im Schwaghof in Bad Salzuflen am 9. März 1967. V.l.n.r.: Eberhard Frh. Von Medem, Kultusstaatssekretär Prof. Dr. Hermann Lübbe, der Bielefelder Oberbürgermeister Herbert Hinnendahl, der Bielefelder Verkehrsdirektor Josef Fuchs und Prof. Dr. Helmut Schelsky.

    Fotograf: Ed. Heidmann
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01884.
  • Vortrag des Soziologen Prof. Dr. Heinz Hartmann auf der Schwaghof-Tagung in Bad Salzuflen am 9. März 1967.

    Fotograf: Ed. Heidmann
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01885
  • Sitzung des Gründungsausschusses der Universität Bielefeld am 12. Oktober 1968 in der Lampe Bank in Bielefeld. Vorne rechts Universitätskanzler Dr. Eberhard Firnhaber, vorne vorm Kopfende der Vorsitzende des Gründungsausschusses Prof. Dr. Ernst Joachim Mestmäcker (Rückansicht), am anderen Kopfende Prof. Dr. Harald Weinrich.

    Fotograf: Ed. Heidmann
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01886
  • Sitzung des Gründungsausschusses der Universität Bielefeld am 12. Oktober 1968 in der Lampe Bank in Bielefeld.

    Fotograf: Ed. Heidmann
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01887
  • Die Soziologen Prof. Dr. Niklas Luhmann und Prof. Dr. Franz-Xaver Kaufmann am Rande der gemeinsamen Sitzung von Gründungsausschuss und Wissenschaftlichem Beirat im Rathaus der Stadt Bielefeld am 27. Januar 1969.

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01888.
  • Gemeinsame Sitzung von Gründungsausschuss und Wissenschaftlichem Beirat im Rathaus der Stadt Bielefeld am 27. Januar 1969. V.l.n.r.: Prof. Dr. Helmut Schelsky, Prof. Hartmut von Hentig PhD, Prof. Dr. Horst Rollnik, Prof. Dr. Friedrich Hirzebruch und Prof. Dr. Karl Peter Grotemeyer.

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01907.

Reformuniversität

Mit dem Beschluss des Landeskabinetts vom Oktober 1967 gingen Gründungsausschuss, Wissenschaftlicher Beirat und die für die einzelnen Fächer zuständigen Fachbereichskommissionen an die konkrete Ausformung der Strukturmerkmale. Neuartige Einrichtungen wie das Zentrum für interdisziplinäre Forschung, Universitäts- oder Forschungsschwerpunkte, das Zentrum für Wissenschaft und berufliche Praxis wurden der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert. Einige Schlagworte, die für die Reformen der neuen Universität in den Bereichen Forschung und Lehre standen, sorgten für deutschlandweites Aufsehen im Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsbereich: „Forschung als Amtspflicht der Professoren“ und damit verbunden der „jährliche Wechsel von Forschung und Lehre“ oder „struktureller numerus clausus“, womit eine festgeschriebene Betreuungsrelation von einem Professor oder einer Professorin auf 30 Studierende gemeint war, waren genauso sensationell wie „Steigerung der Ausbildungseffizienz“. Es war also nicht verwunderlich, dass diese Strukturmerkmale kontrovers diskutiert wurden – vor dem Hintergrund der an Fahrt aufnehmenden Studierendenbewegung und der zu erwartenden Studierendenschwemme.

Dabei zeigte sich jedoch schon bald, dass das mutige Reformkonzept nicht eins zu eins umsetzbar sein würde.

Ausschnitt aus der Rede des nordrhein-westfälischen Kultusministers und Vorsitzenden des Gründungsausschusses Prof. Dr. Paul Mikat anlässlich der Konstituierung des Gründungsausschusses für eine ostwestfälische Universität am 11. November 1965 in Düsseldorf.

Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, TDS 1.