29.01.1966

A university needs friends

On 29 January 1966 – more than three years before the foundation of Bielefeld University – over seventy prominent figures from public and economic life meet at Bankhaus Lampe in Bielefeld to found the ‘Westfälisch-Lippische Universitätsgesellschaft – Verein der Freunde und Förderer e.V.’ (University Society). These friends and supporters come from all over East Westphalia-Lippe and include several members of the founding committee of the University as well as representatives of the cities of Herford, Paderborn and Detmold, which were defeated in their bid to become University towns. The inaugural meeting elects the industrialist Rudolf-August Oetker as chairperson and the Mayor of Bielefeld, Herbert Hinnendahl, as his deputy

  • The inaugural meeting of the Westfälisch-Lippische Universitätsgesellschaft (University Society) on 29 January 1966 in the Lampe Bank in Bielefeld. Professor Dr. Helmut Schelsky explains the plans for the University

    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld. NEG R 1.24_1_4
  • raise a toast to a successful foundation: District President Ernst Graumann, the District Administrator of Lippe, Heinrich Drake, and Rudolf-August Oetker. In the background Ewald Kipper, Director of the Bielefeld branch of the ASTA-Werke, who in December 1960 launched the first initiative in support of a University in Bielefeld.

    Photo: Borowka
    Source: Stadtarchiv Bielefeld
  • Impressions from the inaugural meeting on 29 January 1966 (I): The Mayors of Bielefeld and Herford, Herbert Hinnendahl and Kurt Schober, in conversation with Helmut Schelsky and Rudolf-August Oetker (from left).

    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, NEG R 1.4_4_2
  • Impressions from the inaugural meeting on 29 January 1966 (II): Radio interview by journalist Werner Höcker (from the West German public broadcasting company WDR) with Helmut Schelsky and Rudolf-August Oetker.

    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, NEG R 1.4_3_1
  • Impressions from the inaugural meeting on 29 January 1966 (III): Radio interview by journalist Werner Höcker (from the West German public broadcasting company WDR) with Helmut Schelsky and Rudolf-August Oetker.

    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, NEG R 1.4_2_3

Since the state government announced its intention to found a university in East Westphalia, the political, economic and civic leaders of the largest city in East Westphalia had been trying to form an association with the primarily function of supporting Bielefeld as the only possible location for the establishment of a University in the region. When it became apparent that Bielefeld’s bid was going to be successful, a “small circle” surrounding Hinnendahl and Oetker pressed ahead with the formation of a working committee in 1965. The committee saw its role as providing politically impartial, intellectual and financial support to the University in East Westphalia, and soon became an important contact for the planners of the University headed by the Minister of Culture, Paul Mikat, and Helmut Schelsky.

In his speech at the inaugural meeting, Rudolf-August Oetker emphasised that the board of the University Society would try to overcome the differences of previous years that had arisen between the competing cities. He believed that the soon-to-be founded University needed support from all towns and cities in the East Westphalia-Lippe region and all sections of the population regardless of denomination, profession and ideology.

Forging links, supporting the university

In the following years, the University Society successfully pursued its statutory goals of promoting the Westphalian-Lippe University and deepening the relationship between science, business and civic society. Among the University Society’s initiatives was the organisation of two splendid university balls, one held in Bad Salzuflen on 7 September 1968, and another at the “Gesellschaftshaus” in Bielefeld on 28 January 1972.

  • Fighter for the common cause: The Representative of the Minister of Culture of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia for Organisational and Administrative Planning of the University in East Westphalia, the Bonn University Chancellor, Eberhard Freiherr von Medem, with Rudolf-August Oetker.

    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, NEG R 1.30_1_5
  • First University Ball 1968: The managing director of the University Society Werner Glahe, the chairperson of the founding committee of the University Ernst-Joachim Mestmäcker, Maja Oetker, Hildegard Hinnendahl, Bielefeld’s Mayor Herbert Hinnendahl and the chairperson of the University Society Rudolf-August Oetker.

    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01485
  • First University Ball 1968: Maja and Rudolf-August Oetker.

    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01486
  • First University Ball 1968: The chairperson of the founding committee, Ernst-Joachim Mestmäcker on the dance floor.

    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01505
  • First University Ball 1968: At a crowded cold buffet, Hildegard Hinnendahl assists Rudolf-August Oetker.

    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01507
  • First University Ball 1968: Ernst-Joachim Mestmäcker, Werner Glahe and Helmut Schelsky.

    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01506
  • Second University Ball 1972: The Rektor of the University, Karl Peter Grotemeyer welcomes the guests, among them Rudolf-August Oetker, Heinz zur Nieden (Director of Anker-Werke), local reporter Lothar Wönckhaus and University Chancellor Dr. Eberhard Firnhaber.

    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01504
  • Second University Ball 1972: Future FDP Major of Bielefeld, Gisela Schwerdt, and the Law Professor und future Minister of the Interior Werner Maihofer, also a member of the German Liberal Democrats, make a “liberal” dancing couple.

    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01487
  • Second University Ball 1972: Rektor Karl Peter Grotemeyer, Herbert Schnoor (Undersecretary at the Ministry of Education NRW), Renate Firnhaber, Maja and Rudolf-August Oetker.

    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01503

Even today, after more than 50 years and its renaming in the anniversary year of 2016 to “Universitätsgesellschaft Bielefeld” (Bielefeld University Society), the association is still building bridges between the University and the people of the city and region. It is strengthening links between the University and business, promoting teaching and research, facilitating events to promote dialogue, organising cultural programmes, facilitating internationalisation, and sponsoring competitions for excellence in teaching and research.

29.01.1966

Eine Universität braucht Freunde

Am 29. Januar 1966 – über drei Jahre vor Gründung der Universität Bielefeld – treffen sich im Bankhaus Lampe in Bielefeld mehr als 70 prominente Personen des öffentlichen Lebens und der Wirtschaft, um die „Westfälisch-Lippische Universitätsgesellschaft – Verein der Freunde und Förderer e.V.“ zu gründen. Diese kommen aus ganz Ostwestfalen-Lippe und umfassen mehrere Mitglieder des Gründungsausschusses der Universität sowie Vertreter der im Standortwettbewerb unterlegenen Städte Herford, Paderborn und Detmold. Die Gründungsversammlung wählt den Industriellen Rudolf-August Oetker zum Vorsitzenden und den Bielefelder Oberbürgermeister Herbert Hinnendahl zu seinem Stellvertreter.

  • Die Gründungsversammlung der Westfälisch-Lippischen Universitätsgesellschaft am 29. Januar 1966 in der Bielefelder Lampe-Bank. Prof. Dr. Helmut Schelsky erläutert die Universitätspläne.

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld. NEG R 1.24_1_4
  • Stoßen auf die vollzogene Gründung an: (v.l.n.r.) Regierungspräsident Ernst Graumann, der Lippische Landrat Heinrich Drake und Rudolf-August Oetker. Im Hintergrund Ewald Kipper, Direktor der Bielefelder ASTA-Werke, der im Dezember 1960 eine erste Initiative zugunsten einer Hochschule in Bielefelder startete.

    Fotograf: Borowka
    Quelle: Stadtarchiv Bielefeld
  • Impressionen von der Gründungsversammlung am 29. Januar 1966 I: Die Oberbürgermeister von Bielefeld und Herford, Herbert Hinnendahl und Kurt Schober, Helmut Schelsky und Rudolf-August Oetker im Gespräch (von links).

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, NEG R 1.4_4_2
  • Impressionen von der Gründungsversammlung am 29. Januar 1966 II: Hörfunkinterview zwischen dem WDR-Journalisten Werner Höcker und Helmut Schelsky sowie Rudolf-August Oetker.

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, NEG R 1.4_3_1
  • Impressionen von der Gründungsversammlung am 29. Januar 1966 III: Hörfunkinterview zwischen dem WDR-Journalisten Werner Höcker und Helmut Schelsky sowie Rudolf-August Oetker.

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, NEG R 1.4_2_3

Seit der Ankündigung der Landesregierung, eine Universität in Ostwestfalen zu gründen, hatten sich die Spitzen aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft der größten ostwestfälischen Stadt um die Bildung eines Fördervereins bemüht, der in erster Linie Bielefeld als einzig möglichen Standort einer solchen Hochschulgründung unterstützen sollte. Als deutlich wurde, dass Bielefeld im Rennen um den Standort der Universität die Nase vorn haben würde, forcierte Mitte 1965 ein „kleiner Kreis“ um Hinnendahl und Oetker die Bildung eines Arbeitsausschusses. Dieser Ausschuss sah seine Rolle als parteipolitisch neutraler geistiger und materieller Förderer der Universität in Ostwestfalen und fungierte schon bald als wichtiger Ansprechpartner für die Planer der Universität um Kultusminister Paul Mikat und Helmut Schelsky.

Rudolf-August Oetker betonte in seiner Rede auf der Gründungsversammlung, dass der Vorstand der Universitätsgesellschaft versuchen werde, die Differenzen der vergangenen Jahre zwischen den konkurrierenden Städten zu beenden, denn die zu gründende Universität müsse von allen Städten und Gemeinden des ostwestfälisch-lippischen Raumes und allen Teilen der Bevölkerung, unabhängig von Konfessionen, Berufsständen, politischer und weltanschaulicher Richtung getragen werden.

  • Kämpfer für die gemeinsame Sache: Der Beauftragte des Kultusministers des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen für die Organisations- und Verwaltungsplanung der Universität im ostwestfälischen Raum, der Bonner Universitätskanzler Eberhard Frhr. von Medem und Rudolf-August Oetker.

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, NEG R 1.30_1_5
  • Erster Universitätsball 1968: Der Geschäftsführer der Universitätsgesellschaft Werner Glahe, der Vorsitzende des Gründungsausschusses der Universität Ernst-Joachim Mestmäcker, Maja Oetker, Hildegard Hinnendahl, Bielefelds Oberbürgermeister Herbert Hinnendahl und der Vorsitzende der Universitätsgesellschaft Rudolf-August Oetker.

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01485
  • Erster Universitätsball 1968: Maja und Rudolf-August Oetker.

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01486
  • Erster Universitätsball 1968: Der Vorsitzende des Gründungsausschusses, Ernst-Joachim Mestmäcker beim Tanz.

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01505
  • Erster Universitätsball 1968: Gedränge am Kalten Buffet. Hildegard Hinnendahl ist Rudolf-August Oetker behilflich.

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01507
  • Erster Universitätsball 1968: Ernst-Joachim Mestmäcker, Werner Glahe und Helmut Schelsky.

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01506
  • Zweiter Universitätsball 1972: Begrüßung der Gäste – unter anderem Rudolf-August Oetker, der Direktor der Anker-Werke Heinz zur Nieden, der Lokalreporter Lothar Wönckhaus und Universitätskanzler Dr. Eberhard Firnhaber – durch den Rektor der Universität Karl Peter Grotemeyer.

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01504
  • Zweiter Universitätsball 1972: „Liberaler Tanz“. Die spätere FDP-Bürgermeisterin der Stadt Bielefeld, Gisela Schwerdt, und der Rechtsprofessor und spätere Bundesinnenminister Werner Maihofer.

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01487
  • Zweiter Universitätsball 1972: Rektor Karl Peter Grotemeyer, Herbert Schnoor, Staatsekretär im Wissenschaftsministerium NRW, Renate Firnhaber, Maja und Rudolf-August Oetker.

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01503

Verbindungen stärken, Universität fördern

Überaus erfolgreich vertrat die Universitätsgesellschaft in der Folgezeit ihre satzungsgemäßen Ziele, die westfälisch-lippische Universität zu fördern und die Beziehungen zwischen Wissenschaft und Praxis zu vertiefen. Das taten sie nicht nur, aber auch mit zwei glanzvollen Universitätsbällen am 7. September 1968 in Bad Salzuflen und am 28. Januar 1972 im Gesellschaftshaus Bielefeld, in denen sich Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Stadtgesellschaft näher kamen.

Auch heute nach über 50 Jahren und der im Jubiläumsjahr 2016 erfolgten Umbenennung in „Universitätsgesellschaft Bielefeld“ baut sie Brücken zwischen Universität und Bevölkerung in Stadt und Region, stärkt die Verbindungen zwischen Universität und Wirtschaft, fördert Lehre und Forschung, Dialogveranstaltungen, kulturelle Angebote, die Internationalisierung und lobt Wettbewerbe für exzellente Lehre und Forschung aus.