06.06.1966

Hear all about it! – Bielefeld gets a university

It is made official: Franz Meyers, the Minister President of North Rhine-Westphalia, informs the press that the cabinet has chosen Bielefeld as the location of the new university. After years of “location warfare”, Bielefeld prevails with its location in Dornberg against the other contenders, Detmold, Herford, Paderborn, Sennestadt and Soest.

Headline of the special edition of the Westfalen-Blatt newspaper on the decision in favour of Bielefeld, Monday 6 June 1966.

with the kind permission of the WESTFALEN-BLATT

As early as autumn 1965, there were growing signs that the largest city in East Westphalia, with a population of around 170,000, was ahead in the running to become the location for the University. Members of all parties in the state parliament had more or less directly spoken out in favour of Bielefeld. In addition, the site survey commissioned by the state government in August 1965 also clearly supported the location of the current University in Bielefeld-Großdornberg. Finally, the main actors of the newly founded university, Paul Mikat and Helmut Schelsky, made no secret of their preference for Bielefeld.

In the city of Bielefeld, an alliance formed between regional and national political actors, industry and organisations in favour of a university in Bielefeld. Armed with good arguments as well as economic, political and financial power, this alliance helped win against the competition from Herford, Detmold, and, in particular, Paderborn. Sometimes unconventional means were employed and bureaucracy was bypassed. Around the turn of the year 1965/66, the Westfälisch-Lippische Universitätsgesellschaft (University Society) was founded. Although officially it was “location-neutral”, the very composition of its governing bodies showed a clear tendency for Bielefeld.

“University of East Westphalia”: Excerpt from Herbert Hinnendahl’s speech (Mayor of Bielefeld) on the occasion of the laying of the foundation stone for the Aufbauzentrum (Development and provisions centre) of Bielefeld University on 21 June 1968.

Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, TDS 6

Bielefeld becomes a university town

The state government, however, took some time to make its official decision. It was only on Monday 6 June, 1966 that Minister President, Franz Meyers, announced at a press conference held in the cellar of the historic town hall that the new university was to be built on the Voltmannshof site in Bielefeld-Großdornberg. Following the afternoon press conference, the Westfalenblatt newspaper published a two-page, free special edition to inform the Bielefeld public.

The same article showed an aerial photograph of Bielefeld-Großdornberg with a line marking the boundary of the envisaged university grounds. To the left of the picture is the Voltmannshof, which still stands today and has housed the Internationales Begegnungszentrum der Wissenschaft IBZ (international guest house) since 1982. The 21 flats of the IBZ serve primarily as accommodation for visiting scholars of Bielefeld University and their families.

Aerial view of Bielefeld-Großdornberg from 1966. With the projected university grounds illustrated by dashes.

Photo: Günter Rudolf
Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld FOS 01613

Uncertainty until property is purchased

At the end of 1965, the state government appeared to have already come to a decision in favour of Bielefeld-Großdornberg, according to a letter written by the ministerial director, Professor Wegner, to the DF group (building and property matters) in the Ministry of Culture, dated 2 December 1965. The government’s reticence to make it official was mainly due to an attempt to avoid property speculation. In a note dated 23 December 1965, Eberhard Freiherr von Medem, representative of the state government for organisational planning, writes about the progress made in the property negotiations with the Voltmann and Kleineberg families. On 21 April 1966, after lengthy and difficult negotiations, senior city director, Kuhn, representing the city of Bielefeld, finally reached an agreement with Katharina Voltmann on the purchase price of the Voltmannshof site and the conditions attached to the sale. Only after these negotiations were successfully concluded on 16 May 1966 and recorded in a local court, could the Bielefeld-Großdornberg location be officially confirmed in June 1966.

06.06.1966

Extrablatt – Bielefeld erhält die Universität

Es wird offiziell: Der Ministerpräsident des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen Franz Meyers teilt vor der Presse mit, das Kabinett habe sich für Bielefeld als Sitz der neuen Hochschule entschieden. Nach einem jahrelangen „Standortkrieg“ setzt sich Bielefeld mit dem Standort in Dornberg gegen die weiteren Bewerber Detmold, Herford, Paderborn, Sennestadt und Soest durch.

Titelzeile des Extrablattes des Westfalen-Blattes zur Standortentscheidung, Montag, 6. Juni 1966

mit freundlicher Genehmigung des WESTFALEN-BLATTES

Allerdings ver­dichteten sich bereits im Herbst 1965 die Anzeichen dafür, dass die mit ca. 170.000 Einwohnern größte Stadt Ostwestfalens das Ren­nen um den Standort der Universität machen würde. Mitglieder aller im Landtag vertretenen Parteien hatten sich mehr oder weniger direkt für Bielefeld ausgesprochen, das von der Lan­desregierung in Auftrag gegebene Standortgut­achten befürwortete im August 1965 ebenfalls eindeutig den jetzigen Universitätsstandort Bielefeld-Großdornberg und schließlich machten die Hauptakteure der Universitäts­neugründung, Paul Mikat und Prof. Dr. Helmut Schelsky, aus ihrer Präferenz für Bielefeld keinen Hehl.

Insbesondere in der Stadt Bielefeld formierte sich im Zusammenspiel von regionaler und überre­gionaler Politik, Industrie und Verbänden ein Bündnis für eine Universität in Bielefeld, das – mit guten Argumenten und wirtschaftlicher, politischer und finanzieller Macht ausgestat­tet – den „Standortwettstreit“ mit Herford, Detmold und insbesondere Paderborn für sich entscheiden konnte. Dabei wurden mit­unter auch unkonventionelle Mittel genutzt und unbürokratische Wege eingeschlagen. Um den Jahreswechsel 1965/66 gründete sich die Westfälisch-Lippische Univer­sitätsgesellschaft – Verein der Freunde und Förderer, die zwar offiziell „standortneutral“ auftrat, aber schon durch die Zusammenset­zung ihrer Führungsgremien eine eindeutige Tendenz für Bielefeld erkennen ließ.

„Universität für Ostwestfalen“: Auszug aus der Rede Herbert Hinnendahls (Oberbürgermeister Bielefelds) anlässlich der Feierstunde zur Grundsteinlegung für das Aufbau- und Verfügungszentrum (AVZ) der Universität Bielefeld am 21. Juni 1968.

Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, TDS 6

Bielefeld wird Uni-Stadt

Mit der offiziellen Standortentscheidung ließ sich die Landesregierung allerdings noch etwas Zeit. Erst am Montag, den 6. Juni 1966 gab Ministerpräsident Franz Meyers in einer Pressekonferenz im Bielefelder Ratskeller bekannt, dass die neue Universität in Bielefeld-Großdornberg auf dem Gelände des Voltmannshofes errichtet werden solle. Das Westfalenblatt gab im Anschluss an die nachmittägliche Pressekonferenz ein zweiseitiges, kostenloses Extrablatt heraus, um die Bielefelder Bevölkerung über die positive Standortentscheidung zu informieren.

Im gleichen Artikel wurde ein Luftbild von Bielefeld-Großdornberg gezeigt, bei dem das projektierte Universitätsgelände mit Strichen umrandet war. Links im Bild ist der Voltmannshof zu sehen, der auch heute noch steht und seit 1982 das Internationale Begegnungszentrum der Wissenschaft (IBZ) beherbergt. Im IBZ werden in 21 Gästewohnungen vorrangig Gastwissenschaftlerinnen und Gastwissenschaftler der Universität Bielefeld mit ihren Familien untergebracht.

Luftbild Bielefeld-Großdornbergs aus dem Jahre 1966. Nachträglich gestrichelt: Das projektierte Universitätsgelände.

Foto: Günter Rudolf
Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld FOS 01613

Zitterpartie bis zum Grundstückskauf

Spannende Notiz am Rande: Die Landesregierung schien die Entscheidung für Bielefeld-Großdornberg schon Ende 1965 getroffenen zu haben, wie Ministerialdirigent Prof. Dr. Wegner der Gruppe ZD (Bau- und Grundstücksangelegenheiten) im Kultusministerium in einem Schreiben vom 2. Dezember 1965 mitteilte. Die öffentliche Zurückhaltung beruhte vor allem auf dem Versuch, Grundstücksspekulationen zu vermeiden. In einem Vermerk von Eberhard Freiherr von Medem, Beauftragter der Landesregierung für die Organisationsplanung, vom 23. Dezember 1965 wird über den Fortgang der Grundstücksverhandlungen mit den Familien Voltmann und Kleineberg geschrieben. Am 21. April 1966 erreichte Oberstadtdirektor Kuhn als Vertreter der Stadt Bielefeld in den Kaufverhandlungen mit Katharina Voltmann nach langwierigen und diffizilen Verhandlungen schließlich eine Einigung über den Kaufpreis des Geländes des Voltmannshofes und die an den Verkauf geknüpften Bedingungen. Erst nachdem am 16. Mai 1966 diese Verhandlungen erfolgreich abgeschlossen und amtsgerichtlich dokumentiert waren, konnte im Juni 1966 der Standort Bielefeld-Großdornberg offiziell bestätigt werden.