07.07.1982

Women at the centre of research – Opening of the IFF

On July 7, 1982, the Interdisciplinary Research Group on Women’s Studies (IFF) is established, making it the first official women’s research institution at a German university. In previous years, Bielefeld University members had already been striving to institutionalise women’s studies at the university. The resulting Interdisciplinary Centre for Gender Studies (IZG) is now nationally and internationally known and emulated.

Rektor Professor Dr. Karl Peter Grotemeyer (first from right) announces the establishment of the Interdisciplinary Research Group in Women’s Studies at a press conference of the Working Group for Women Researchers in NRW, 1984.

Photo: Manfred Kettner
Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld

The origins of the IFF can be traced back to an initiative in 1975 when female academics held seminars for women at Bielefeld University. At the suggestion of the Rektor Professor Dr. Karl Peter Grotemeyer, a ZiF colloquium was held in May 1980 to establish a university research focus on women’s studies. Professor Dr. Reimut Jochimsen, the then Minister of Science and Research of North Rhine-Westphalia, also participated in the colloquium. This contact resulted in funding for an office for women’s studies to establish a university focus on this subject.

NRW Science minister Reimut Jochimsen on the podium at the ZiF-Kolloquium to establish a USP Women’s Research, May 1980. On the far left Prof. Dr. Christiane Schmerl, right Rektor Prof. Dr. Karl Peter Grotemeyer.

Photo: Manfred Kettner
Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld

New name for a new centre

In 1987, the Senate of Bielefeld University decided to establish a permanent research group. However, a new university law meant that women’s studies could no longer be continued in its former form. The University therefore a created new research institute, initially named the Interdisciplinary Women’s Research Centre. In 2004 the name was changed to the Interdisciplinary Centre for Women’s and Gender Studies and again in 2016 to the Interdisciplinary Centre for Gender Studies (IZG).

The activities of the Centre focus on highlighting, promoting and implementing gender studies with an interdisciplinary perspective. Inequalities between the sexes are just as much a topic as differences within the gender groups.

Professor Dr. Christiane Schmerl on the early days of the IFF. Interview from 19 June 2018.

Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FS 233

07.07.1982

Frauen im Zentrum der Forschung – Eröffnung der IFF

Am 7. Juli 1982 wird die Interdisziplinäre Forschungsgruppe Frauenforschung (IFF) eingerichtet und ist damit die erste offizielle Frauenforschungseinrichtung an einer deutschen Universität. Bereits in den Jahren zuvor gab es Bestrebungen von Bielefelder Universitätsangehörigen, die Frauenforschung an der Universität zu institutionalisieren. Mittlerweile ist das daraus hervorgegangene Interdisziplinäre Zentrum für Geschlechterforschung (IZG) national und international bekannt und modellhaft nachgeahmt worden.

Bekanntgabe der Einrichtung der Interdisziplinären Forschungsgruppe Frauenforschung durch Rektor Prof. Dr. Karl Peter Grotemeyer (1.v.r.) im Rahmen einer Pressekonferenz des Arbeitskreises Wissenschaftlerinnen in NRW, 1984.

Fotograf: Manfred Kettner
Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld

Die Entstehung der IFF lässt sich bis zu einer Initiative im Jahr 1975 zurückverfolgen, als Frauen den Anstoß zu Frauenseminaren an der Bielefelder Universität gaben. Auf Anregung des Rektors Prof. Dr. Karl Peter Grotemeyer wurde im Mai 1980 ein ZiF-Kolloquium zur Errichtung eines Universitätsschwerpunktes Frauenforschung veranstaltet, an dem auch Prof. Dr. Reimut Jochimsen teilnahm, der damalige Minister für Wissenschaft und Forschung des Landes NRW. Aus diesem Kontakt ergab sich die Fördermöglichkeit für eine Geschäftsstelle für Frauenforschung zur Errichtung eines Universitätsschwerpunktes Frauenforschung.

NRW-Wissenschaftsminister Reimut Jochimsen am Pult beim ZiF-Kolloquium zur Errichtung eines USP Frauenforschung, Mai 1980.

Fotograf: Manfred Kettner
Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld

Neuer Name für ein neues Zentrum
1987 wurde die dauerhafte Verankerung der Forschungsgruppe durch den Senat der Universität Bielefeld beschlossen. Durch ein neues Hochschulgesetz konnte die Frauenforschung in der damaligen Form jedoch nicht mehr weitergeführt werden. Entstanden ist daher die zentrale wissenschaftliche Einrichtung der Universität, zunächst unter dem Namen Interdisziplinäres Frauenforschungszentrum. 2004 erfolgte die Umbenennung in Interdisziplinäres Zentrum für Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung, 2016 schließlich in Interdisziplinäres Zentrum für Geschlechterforschung (IZG).

Die Aktivitäten des Zentrums richten sich auf die Akzentuierung, Förderung und Durchführung von Geschlechterforschung mit einer interdisziplinären Perspektive. Ungleichheiten zwischen den Geschlechtern sind dabei ebenso Thema wie Differenzen innerhalb der Geschlechtergruppen.

Prof. Dr. Christiane Schmerl über die Anfangszeit der IFF. Interview vom 19.6.2018.

Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FS 233