21.06.1968

Foundations laid with some resistance

On June 21, 1968, the foundation stone is laid for the Aufbau-und Verfügungszentrum, (Development and Provisions Centre) which will serve as an alternative accommodation until the completion of the planned university main building, enabling the start of research and teaching in the winter semester of 1969/70. In the midst of this event, students of the Bielefeld School of Engineering and Economics stage large protests against the education policy of the state government.

  • Speech by NRW Minister President, Heinz Kühn, at the laying of the foundation stone at the Aufbauzentrum.

    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 00153
  • Speech by Rudolf August Oetker at the laying of the foundation stone at the University of Education.

    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 00176a
  • Students protest against the education policy of the state government with sheep. In the middle of the picture (with pocket handkerchief) NRW Minister of Culture, Fritz Holthoff, the target of the protests.

    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 00178
  • The police are breaking up the sit-in against the education policy of the state government.

    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 00186a
  • NRW Minister President, Heinz Kühn, speaking in front of the Rudolf-Oetker-Halle.

    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 00191

The actual laying of the foundation stone for Bielefeld University, more precisely for the Aufbauzentrum in Kurt-Schumacher-Straße, was preceded by a ceremony at the University of Education. At this ceremony, NRW Minister President Heinz Kühn, Rudolf August Oetker and the Mayor of Bielefeld Herbert Hinnendahl, among others, addressed many guests of honour from politics, business and science.

Silent footage of the laying of the foundation stone of the Aufbauzentrum by NRW Minister President Heinz Kühn on 21 June 1968.

Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FS 93

Sheep without will?

Although there were no students enrolled yet at Bielefeld University, student protests took place on the sidelines of the ceremony to lay the foundation stone. About 1000 students of the Bielefeld School of Engineering and Economics sought to draw attention to their concerns with a sit-in protest and a blockade of the transfer bus, which was to bring the dignitaries to Kurt-Schumacher-Straße. They fought to anchor their institutions in higher education. Special criticism was directed at the NRW state government and especially at the Minister of Education, Fritz Holthoff, for the new German Higher Education Framework Act: the students believed the policy would turn them into a sheep in the system, with no agency of their own. In a creative turn, protesters brought along sheep to underline their cause.

After the blockade was lifted by the police, the actual laying of the foundation stone took place without any further incident. But while the celebration was to continue in the Rudolf-Oetker-Halle, another crowd of protesting students had formed outside its entrance. Minister President Kühn tried to reassure the demonstrators by making a speech with a megaphone. Thus, student protests accompanied the “groundbreaking ceremony” of Bielefeld University.

  • Basic structure of the Aufbauzentrum in 1969

    Photo: Ed. Heidmann
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01563
  • View of the Aufbauzentrum, around 1970.

    Photo: Bernhard Preker
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 00281
  • Aerial view of the Aufbauzentrum, around 1970. On the left the Kurt-Schumacher-Straße.

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 00272

The Aufbauzentrum was finally completed in the summer of 1969, so that the University’s teaching activities could start as planned in the winter semester of 1969/70. The official handover of the keys for the centre followed on 1 December 1969 – a few weeks after the building went into operation.

21.06.1968

Grundsteinlegung mit Hindernissen

Am 21. Juni 1968 Tag erfolgt die Grundsteinlegung für das Aufbau- und Verfügungszentrum (AVZ), das als Ausweichquartier bis zur Fertigstellung des geplanten Universitätshauptgebäudes den Start für Forschung und Lehre im Wintersemester 1969/70 ermöglichen soll. Am Rande dieses Ereignisses kommt es zu größeren Protesten von Studierenden der Bielefelder Ingenieur- und Höheren Wirtschaftsfachschule gegen die Bildungspolitik der Landesregierung.

  • Rede von NRW-Ministerpräsident Heinz Kühn bei der Grundsteinlegung am Aufbau- und Verfügungszentrum (AVZ).

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 00153
  • Rede von Rudolf August Oetker beim Festakt zur Grundsteinlegung in der Pädagogischen Hochschule

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 00176a
  • Studentischer Protest gegen die Bildungspolitik der Landesregierung mit Schafen. Mittig im Bild (mit Einstecktuch) sieht man NRW-Kultusminister Fritz Holthoff, Ziel der Proteste.

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 00178
  • Die Polizei löst das Sit-In gegen die Bildungspolitik der Landesregierung auf.

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 00186a
  • NRW-Ministerpräsident Heinz Kühn bei seiner Rede vor der Rudolf-Oetker-Halle.

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 00191

Der eigentlichen Grundsteinlegung für die Universität Bielefeld, genauer gesagt für das Aufbau- und Verfügungszentrum in der Kurt-Schumacher-Straße, ging eine Feierstunde in der Pädagogischen Hochschule voraus. Bei dieser Feierstunde sprachen u.a. NRW-Ministerpräsident Heinz Kühn, Rudolf-August Oetker und der Bielefelder Oberbürgermeister Herbert Hinnendahl vor vielen Ehrengästen aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft.

Stumm-Aufnahmen von der Grundsteinlegung des Aufbau- und Verfügungszentrums durch NRW-Ministerpräsident Heinz Kühn am 21. Juni 1968.

Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FS 93

Willenlose Schafe?

Obwohl es noch keine Studierenden der Universität Bielefeld gab, gab es bereits studentischen Protest am Rande der Grundsteinlegung. Etwa 1000 Studierende der Bielefelder Ingenieur- und Höheren Wirtschaftsfachschule wollten mit einem Sit-In und der Blockade des Transferbusses, der die Honoratioren zur Kurt-Schumacher-Straße bringen sollte, auf ihr Anliegen aufmerksam machen. Sie kämpften für eine Verankerung ihrer Institutionen im Hochschulbereich. Besondere Kritik richtete sich an die NRW-Landesregierung und speziell an Kultusminister Fritz Holthoff für das bevorstehende Hochschulrahmengesetz: Die Studierenden würden zu willenlosen Schafen gemacht. Kreativen Nachdruck verliehen die Protestierenden ihrem Anliegen mit mitgebrachten Schafen.

Nach der Auflösung der Blockade durch die Polizei konnte die eigentliche Grundsteinlegung ohne Zwischenfälle durchgeführt werden. Doch während die Feier in der Rudolf-Oetker-Halle weitergehen sollte, formierte sich vor der Tür erneut eine studentische Protestmenge. Ministerpräsident Kühn versuchte die anwesenden Demonstranten mit einer Rede über Megafon zu beruhigen. So begleiteten studentische Proteste bereits den „ersten Spatenstich“ der Universität Bielefeld.

  • Rohbau des Aufbau- und Verfügungszentrums im Jahr 1969.

    Fotograf: Ed. Heidmann
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01563
  • Blick auf die Gebäude des AVZ, ca. 1970.

    Fotograf: Bernhard Preker
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 00281
  • Luftaufnahme vom AVZ, ca. 1970. Links die Kurt-Schumacher-Straße.

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 00272

Das Aufbau- und Verfügungszentrum wurde schließlich im Sommer 1969 fertiggestellt, sodass der Lehrbetrieb der Universität wie geplant zum Wintersemester 1969/70 starten konnte. Die offizielle Schlüsselübergabe für das AVZ folgte am 1. Dezember 1969 – also erst einige Wochen nach Inbetriebnahme des Gebäudes.