05.09.1969

Heart attack after the election to University Rektor

In late summer 1969, the University founders in East Westphalia received news that the state government had approved the University’s statutes, which had been the subject of long and intensive struggle. This, together with reaching the number of professors and research associates set out in the statutes, provides the basis for the formation of the University committees.

Constituent assembly of the Senate in the grand meeting hall of Bielefeld Town Hall. At the head of the room are Chancellor Dr. Eberhard Firnhaber, Rektor Professor Dr. Ernst-Joachim Mestmäcker and his personal consultant Dr. Udo Jansen.

Photo: Günter Rudolf
Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, NEG R 1_5_5_3

On the afternoon of the 5 September 1969, 14 representatives from the teaching body, seven research associates – among them Dr. Dorothea Böhmer, ZiF assistant and the only woman – and several non-voting representatives of the founding committee and the scientific advisory council met in the large meeting room of Bielefeld Town Hall.

The only items on the agenda were the formation of the Senate and the election of a Rektor. However, it had already been agreed in advance that both matters needed to be reviewed again shortly, as the statutes foresaw the participation of all faculties and the student body in such decisions. At that point in time, neither the faculties of Law and of Mathematics nor the student body had constituted themselves.

During a break in the Senate meeting: The new Rektor Professor Dr. Mestmäcker in conversation with University Chancellor Dr. Firnhaber.

Photo: Günter Rudolf
Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, NEG R 1_5_4_3

The election

Law professor Ernst-Joachim Mestmäcker, the chairperson of the founding committee, was elected Rektor by a large majority. In February 1969, he was appointed by the Minister of Education to oversee the Rektorat. Karl-Peter Grotemeyer, who had just accepted a position at the University as Professor of Mathematics, was also elected by a large majority, and became Mestmäcker’s only vice-rector.

After the election, Mestmäcker answers the questions of reporter Werner Höcker from the German public broadcasting company WDR.

Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, NEG R 1_5_3_2

Dark shadow

But just a few hours later a dark shadow fell over the successful election. Ernst-Joachim Mestmäcker, who had answered questions from the press and radio after the Senate meeting, suffered a heart attack a few hours later and had to be taken by his driver to a Bielefeld hospital.

Contemporary witnesses to the dramatic events on the day of the Senate’s founding. Excerpt from the film “Rector for Life” in honour of Karl Peter Grotemeyer, 2009.


Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FS 47

Although the worst fears of those involved in the founding process did not materialise, Mestmäcker’s continuing health problems led to the election of vice-rector Grotemeyer, and not Mestmäcker, to Rektor in March 1970. Grotemeyer had provisionally taken over the duties of overseeing the Rektorat from 5 September 1969. He remained Rektor until 1992, and is probably the university Rektor with the longest term of office in Germany to this day.

05.09.1969

Herzanfall nach der Wahl zum Uni-Rektor

Im Spätsommer 1969 erreicht die Universitätsgründer in Ostwestfalen die Nachricht, dass die Landesregierung die Satzung der Universität, um die lange und intensiv gerungen worden war, genehmigt habe. Damit und mit dem Erreichen der in der Satzung festgelegten Zahl von Professorinnen und Professoren sowie wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeitenden ist die entscheidende Grundlage für die Konstituierung der Universitätsgremien gelegt.

Konstituierung des Senats im Großen Sitzungssaal des Bielefelder Rathauses. An der Stirnseite Kanzler Dr. Eberhard Firnhaber, Rektor Prof. Dr. Ernst-Joachim Mestmäcker und dessen persönlicher Referent Dr. Udo Jansen.

Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, NEG R 1_5_5_3

Am Nachmittag des 5. September 1969 trafen sich 14 Vertreter des Lehrkörpers, sieben wissenschaftliche Mitarbeitende – unter ihnen mit der ZiF-Assistentin Dr. Dorothea Böhmer die einzige Frau – und sieben nicht stimmberechtigte Vertreter von Gründungsausschuss und Wissenschaftlichem Beirat im Großen Sitzungssaal des Rathauses der Stadt Bielefeld.

Die einzigen Tagesordnungspunkte waren die Konstituierung des Senats und die Wahl eines Rektors. Allerdings hatte man sich bereits im Vorfeld darauf geeinigt, dass beides in Kürze wiederholt werden solle, da die Satzung eine Beteiligung aller Fakultäten und der verfassten Studierendenschaft vorsah. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt aber hatten sich weder die Fakultäten der Rechtwissenschaften und Mathematik noch die Studierendenschaft konstituiert.

In einer Pause während der Sitzung des Senats: Der neue Rektor Prof. Dr. Mestmäcker im Gespräch mit Universitätskanzler Dr. Firnhaber.

Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, NEG R 1_5_4_3

Die Wahl

Zum Rektor gewählt wurde mit großer Mehrheit der Vorsitzende des Gründungsausschusses und im Februar 1969 vom Kultusminister mit der Führung der Rektoratsgeschäfte beauftragte Jurist Prof. Dr. Ernst-Joachim Mestmäcker. Der Mathematiker Prof. Dr. Karl-Peter Grotemeyer, der gerade erst den Ruf an die Universität angenommen hatte und ebenfalls mit großer Mehrheit gewählt, wurde Mestmäcker als einziger Prorektor zur Seite gestellt.

Nach der Wahl stellte sich Mestmäcker den Fragen des WDR-Reporters Werner Höcker.

Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, NEG R 1_5_3_2

Dunkler Schatten

Doch schon wenige Stunden danach fiel ein dunkler Schatten auf die erfolgreiche Wahl. Ernst-Joachim Mestmäcker, der sich nach der Senatssitzung noch den Fragen von Presse und Rundfunk gestellt hatte, erlitt wenige Stunden später einen Herzanfall und musste von seinem Fahrer in ein Bielefelder Krankenhaus gebracht werden.

Zeitzeugen zu den dramatischen Ereignissen des Tages der Senatskonstituierung. Ausschnitt aus dem Film „Rektor auf Lebenszeit“ zu Ehren Karl Peter Grotemeyers, 2009.

Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FS 47

Zwar traten die schlimmsten Befürchtungen der am Gründungsprozess Beteiligten nicht ein. Dennoch führte die anhaltende gesundheitliche Beeinträchtigung Mestmäckers dazu, dass im März 1970 nicht dieser sondern Prorektor Grotemeyer, der bereits ab dem 5. September 1969 die Wahrnehmung der Rektoratsgeschäfte interimsweise übernommen hatte, zum Rektor gewählt wurde. Dies blieb er bis 1992 und ist damit wohl bis heute der Rektor mit der längsten Amtszeit in Deutschland.