09.05.1969

Compact or spread out – What will the University look like?

In June 1968, the architectural competition for Bielefeld University is announced. Its basis is the idea of a University committed to educational reform. This presents the architects with unique challenges to formally implement this. On 9 May 1969, the jury awards the first prize to the compact design proposed by the Berliner Architektengemeinschaft, an architectural collective. The decentralised design put forward by the Düsseldorf architects, Bender & Co, is the runner up.

  • Viewing of the winning model of the architectural competition, amongst others, by Prof. Dr. Helmut Schelsky (3rd from the left), Prof. Dr. Ernst-Joachim Mestmäcker (4th from left) and NRW State Minister of Construction, Dr. Ing. Hermann Kohlhase (3rd from the right).

    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 00287
  • Photo of the winning model by the Berlin architectural collective centred around Klaus Köpke (1969). On the right, the Voltmannshof, which was to be preserved as a meeting centre according to the architects’ plans, and above that, the design for the building for the Center for Interdisciplinary Studies, which was not used.

    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01751
  • Photo of the revised and final model after the start of construction (1972). At the top left you can see the Center for Interdisciplinary Research (ZiF), including the Voltmannshof and H buildings, as well as the Behavioural Research Building on the upper right.


    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 00447

  • Aerial photograph of the nearly completed main university building (1975).

    Photo: Günter Rudolf
    Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01550

The jury praised the winning design because of its spatial concentration and the close connection between the facilities, which fulfilled the structural recommendations of the competition. The Düsseldorf design lost by a small margin. While it had the character of a park university campus, the jury found that it was sufficiently centralised and met the functional requirements for communication and cooperation.

Heated debate, a close result

The decision to award first prize to the architects Klaus Köpke, Wolf Siepmann, Helmut Herzog and Katte Töpper was not without controversy. After five hours of deliberation, a vote was forced, in which Köpke’s design narrowly won. Jürgen Hotzan, councillor of the Bielefeld city planning department, was opposed to the design. He saw it as a rehash of Bochum University, which had been completed a few years earlier as the first large public university built after World War II in Germany.

The architectural collective defended its design by pointing to the interdisciplinarity that the University’s founders desired and which required the shortest possible routes between facilities. It highlighted the central hall as a “marketplace”. After revising the winning design, the University voted unanimously in its favour, and it was finally built in 1976.

Klaus Köpke, an architect from the Berlin architecture collective, on winning the competition. Interview from 09.05.2018.

Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FS 230

09.05.1969

Kompakt oder aufgelockert – Wie wird die Universität aussehen?

Im Juni 1968 wird der Bauwettbewerb für die Uni­versität Bielefeld ausgeschrieben. Grundlage soll das Reformkonzept sein – eine Herausforderung, dies baulich umzusetzen. Das Preisgerichtsurteil setzt am 9. Mai 1969 den kompakten Entwurf der Berliner Architekten­gemeinschaft auf den ersten Platz. Der aufgelocker­te Entwurf der Düsseldorfer Architekten Bender & Co. erreicht den zweiten Platz.  

  • Besichtigung des Siegermodells des Bauwettbewerbs, u.a. durch Prof. Dr. Helmut Schelsky (3.v.l.), Prof. Dr. Ernst-Joachim Mestmäcker (4.v.l.) und NRW-Landesbauminister Dr. Hermann Kohlhase (3.v.r.).

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 00287
  • Foto des siegreichen Modells der Berliner Architektengemeinschaft um Klaus Köpke (1969). Rechts der Voltmannshof, der schon nach den Planungen der Architekten als Begegnungszentrum erhalten bleiben sollte, und darüber ihr Entwurf für das Gebäude des interdisziplinären Zentrums, der nicht zum Zuge kam.

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01751
  • Foto des überarbeiteten und endgültigen Modells nach Baubeginn (1972). Am oberen Rand links ist das Zentrum für interdisziplinäre Forschung (ZiF), darunter Voltmannshof und H-Gebäude zu sehen, sowie rechts oben das Gebäude der Verhaltensforschung.

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 00447
  • Luftaufnahme des fast komplett fertiggestellten Universitätshauptgebäudes (1975).

    Fotograf: Günter Rudolf
    Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01550

Beim Siegerentwurf aus Berlin befand das Preisgericht: Aufgrund der extremen Konzen­tration und der sehr günstigen Verflechtung werde er den Struk­turempfehlungen hervorragend gerecht. Beim knapp unterlegenen Entwurf aus Düsseldorf, der den Charakter einer Parkuniversität aufweise, seien Konzentration und funktionelle Kom­munikations- und Kooperationsbedingungen ebenfalls noch gegeben.

Hitzige Debatte, knappe Entscheidung

Die Entscheidung für den Entwurf der Architekten Klaus Köpke, Wolf Siepmann, Helmut Herzog und Katte Töpper war nicht spannungsfrei. Nach einer fünfstündigen Verhandlung des Preisgerichts kam es zu einer Art Kampfabstimmung, in der Köpkes Entwurf knapp die Mehrheit errang. Der Bielefelder Stadtbaurat Jürgen Hotzan stellte sich in der Folge klar gegen den siegreichen Entwurf, da er in der Planung einen Aufguss der Bochumer Massenuniversität sah, die wenige Jahre zuvor fertiggestellt worden war.

Die Architektengemeinschaft verteidigte sich mit Bezug auf die gewünschte Interdisziplinarität, die möglichst kurze Wege erforderte, und stellte die zentrale Halle als „Marktplatz“ in den Vordergrund. Nach der Überarbeitung der ausgezeichneten Entwürfe sprach sich die Universität ein­stimmig für den Siegerentwurf aus, der schließlich bis 1976 baulich umgesetzt wurde.

Klaus Köpke, ein Architekten aus der Berliner Architektengemeinschaft, zum Gewinn des Bauwettbewerbs. Interview vom 09.05.2018.

Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FS 230