27.06.2017

A pleasant surprise: Approval of the Medical Faculty OWL

On 27 June 2017, Armin Laschet (CDU) is elected the new Minister President of NRW. The coalition agreement of the new state government of the CDU and FDP includes the foundation of a “Medical Faculty OWL” at Bielefeld University as a core objective. After ten years of unsuccessful initiatives for such an institution, the planning for the fourteenth faculty can begin.  

NRW’s State Minister for Health Karl-Josef Laumann and NRW’s State Minister of Culture and Science Isabel Pfeiffer-Poensgen speaking on location with founding dean Prof. Dr. med. Claudia Hornberg and Rector Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gerhard Sagerer on the current state of development of the Medical Faculty at the University of Bielefeld (from left to right) on 1 october 2018.

Photo: Norma Langohr
Source: Universität Bielefeld

Professor Dr. Claudia Hornberg has been working as founding dean of the new Faculty since 1 October 2018, the official date of the Faculty’s grounding. She specialises in hygiene and environmental medicine and has held the chair in Environment and Health at the Bielefeld Faculty of Health Sciences since 2002. As founding dean, she will supervise the founding process and develop the concept of the Faculty in consultation with the founding advisory board, which includes external experts. The first prospective physicians will begin their studies in Bielefeld in the winter semester of 2021/2022. On completion (from 2025), up to 300 students per year are expected to begin their studies here.

Establishment of the founding advisory board of the Faculty of Medicine OWL on 27 June 2018 with Rektor Professor Dr. Gerhard Sagerer (back, first from left), founding dean Professor Dr. Claudia Hornberg (back, third from left) and vice-rector Professor Dr. Martin Egelhaaf (back, first from right).

Photo: Norma Langohr
Source: Universität Bielefeld

Bochum Model with innovations

Bielefeld University – in a similar way to the Ruhr Universität Bochum – will not operate its own university hospital. Instead, it will cooperate with individual hospitals in East Westphalia to provide medical training. By setting up an exemplary study programme, the university is doing justice to its innovative strength. The focus will be on general medicine. The new faculty will be conducting research and teaching in close collaboration with other faculties at the University.

Earlier attempts

The establishment of a medical faculty in Bielefeld had already been discussed in political circles in 2010/2011. At the time, the University compiled a white paper with initial proposals, which has proved to be useful in the current foundation process. In 2010, the deselection of the conservative and liberal coalition brought the plans of NRW’s State Minister for Innovation Andreas Pinkwart (FDP), which had reached an advanced stage, to a standstill. Later, the new red-green coalition government of the regional state quashed the plans. Interesting note in passing: Professor Dr. Helmut Schelsky had envisaged a medical faculty for Bielefeld already in his initial concept for the University in the 1960s, but this idea was rejected at the time for budgetary reasons.

27.06.2017

Unerwartet, aber erfreulich: Bewilligung der Medizinischen Fakultät OWL

Am 27.6.2017 wird Armin Laschet (CDU) zum neuen NRW-Ministerpräsidenten gewählt. Im Koalitionsvertrag der neuen Landesregierung von CDU und FDP steht als ein Kernziel die Gründung einer „Medizinischen Fakultät OWL“ an der Universität Bielefeld. Nach einem vergeblichen Anlauf vor fast zehn Jahren können so die Planungen für die 14. Fakultät beginnen.  

Gesundheitsminister Karl-Josef Laumann und Kultur- und Wissenschaftsministerin Isabel Pfeiffer-Poensgen sprachen vor Ort mit Gründungsdekanin Prof. Dr. Claudia Hornberg und Rektor Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gerhard Sagerer über den aktuellen Entwicklungsstand der Medizinischen Fakultät an der Universität Bielefeld (v.r.n.l.) am 1. Oktober 2018.

Fotografin: Norma Langohr
Quelle: Universität Bielefeld

Seit dem 1. Oktober 2018 ist Prof. Dr. Claudia Hornberg Gründungsdekanin der neuen Fakultät, die sich seit diesem Tag offiziell „in Gründung“ befindet. Sie ist Fachärztin für Hygiene und Umweltmedizin und seit 2002 Inhaberin der Professur für Umwelt und Gesundheit an der Bielefelder Fakultät für Gesundheitswissenschaften. Als Gründungsdekanin wird sie den Gründungsprozess begleiten und mit dem Rektorat und in Abstimmung mit einem Gründungsbeirat, dem externe Expertinnen und Experten angehören, die Konzeption der Fakultät erarbeiten. Zum Wintersemester 2021/2022 sollen die ersten angehenden Ärztinnen und Ärzte ihr Studium in Bielefeld aufnehmen. Im Endausbau (ab 2025) sollen hier bis zu 300 Studierende pro Jahr ihr Studium beginnen.

Konstituierung des Gründungsbeirats der Medizinischen Fakultät OWL am 27. Juni 2018 mit Rektor Prof. Dr. Gerhard Sagerer (hinten, 1. v.l.), Gründungsdekanin Prof. Dr. Claudia Hornberg (hinten, 3. v.l.) und Prorektor Prof. Dr. Martin Egelhaaf (hinten, 1. v.r.).

Fotografin: Norma Langohr
Quelle: Universität Bielefeld

„Bochumer Modell“ mit Innovationen

Die Universität Bielefeld wird – ähnlich wie die Ruhruniversität Bochum – kein eigenes Universitätskrankenhaus betreiben. Stattdessen wird sie mit einzelnen Kliniken ostwestfälischer  Krankenhäuser in der Medizinausbildung kooperieren. Daneben wird die Universität mit der Einrichtung eines Modellstudiengangs ihrer Innovationskraft gerecht. Der Schwerpunkt soll auf der Allgemeinmedizin liegen. Die neue Fakultät soll in Forschung und Lehre hochvernetzt mit den anderen Fakultäten agieren.

Frühere Versuche

Bereits 2010/2011 wurde die Einrichtung einer Medizinischen Fakultät in Bielefeld politisch diskutiert. Die Universität fasste seinerzeit erste Überlegungen in einem Eckpunktepapier zusammen, die im Laufe der aktuellen Gründung nützlich waren. Damals wurden die weit fortgeschrittenen Pläne von NRW-Innovationsminister Andreas Pinkwart (FDP) durch die Abwahl der schwarzgelben Koalition ins Stocken gebracht und später von der neuen rotgrünen Landesregierung nicht im angedachtem Maße weiterverfolgt. Kuriose Notiz am Rande: Bereits die Konzeption von Prof Dr. Helmut Schelsky in den 1960er Jahren sah eine Medizinische Fakultät für Bielefeld vor, diese Idee wurde damals allerdings aus Kostengründen verworfen und nicht realisiert.