25.04.1997

A great teaching honour: Karl Peter Grotemeyer prize awarded for first time

In 1996, the Westfälisch-Lippische Universitätsgesellschaft [University Society] – (today: University Society Bielefeld) endowed the “Karl Peter Grotemeyer Prize for outstanding achievements and personal commitment in teaching”, with 5,000 DM (today: 3,000 Euro). On April 25, 1997, the economist Dr. Matthias Raith was awarded the first ever “Karl Peter Grotemeyer Prize”.  

Prof. Dr. Karl Peter Grotemeyer (1927-2007), Rektor of Bielefeld University from 1970 to 1992.

Photo: Manfred Kettner
Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 00591

The eponym

Professor Karl Peter Grotemeyer (1927-2007) was Rektor of Bielefeld University from 5 March 1970 to 30 September 1992, making him the longest-serving rector of the Federal Republic of Germany. In addition to fulfilling the many responsibilities at the helm of the University, Grotemeyer was an enthusiastic and inspiring university lecturer. Even during his term as Rektor, he didn’t miss the opportunity to give lectures and to examine generations of students’ work himself. This prompted the University Society to name the prize after this extremely popular rector and university lecturer. Since the early 1980s, the Society has supported the research achievements of young researchers by awarding dissertation and habilitation prizes, and since 1997, it has awarded the teaching prize.

The first winner of the Grotemeyer Prize 1997: Dr. Matthias Raith, Faculty of Economics.

Photo: Normal Langohr
Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01330

The procedure

The prize is awarded to postdoctoral teachers of Bielefeld University who are under the age of 45 years. All students of Bielefeld University can nominate a candidate. The jury is made up of five students, three members of the teaching staff, one member of the University Society and the Vice-rector for Studies and Teaching. Teachers should be put forward, who are particularly successful in motivating, supervising and supporting their students.

Professor Dr. Miriam Lüken, Faculty of Mathematics, on being awarded the Karl Peter Grotemeyer Prize 2017

Source: Universität Bielefeld
The prize winners

So far, the members of the teaching staff of the Faculty of Linguistics and Literary Studies have been the most frequent recipients of the Grotemeyer Prize, with the remaining prize-winners distributed almost evenly among the other faculties. The majority of Grotemeyer prize-winners – 12 women and 11 men to date – also enjoy successful academic careers, proof that “quality of teaching” is now also a contributing factor to academic reputation. Either the award itself, in this case, is a factor in advancing an academic career, or else quality has already prevailed at the award ceremony.

All good things come in threes: the recipients of Karl Peter Grotemeyer Prize in the anniversary year 2009 (from left to right): Dr. Matthias Lorenz (Faculty of Linguistics and Literary Studies), Junior Professor Dr. Christiane Werner Pinto (Faculty of Biology) and Dr. Björn Rüdiger (Faculty of Law), behind them (from left to right): Ortwin Goldbeck (Chairman of the University Society), honorary professor Dr. h.c. Helmut Steiner (Managing Director of the University Society), Bernd-Christian Balz (Deutsche Bank) and Rektor Professor Dr. Dieter Timmermann.

Photo: Norma Langohr
Source: Universität Bielefeld

The 40th anniversary of the University was marked by a special gesture. The Rektorat decided to award one prize for each of the study areas of the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences in order to highlight the Grotemeyer Prize in the anniversary year.

25.04.1997

Viel Ehre für die Lehre – Erstmalige Vergabe des Karl Peter Grotemeyer-Preises

Die Westfälisch-Lippische Universitätsgesellschaft (heute: Universitätsgesellschaft Bielefeld) stiftet 1996 den mit 5.000 DM (heute: 3.000 Euro) dotierten „Karl Peter Grotemeyer-Preis für hervorragende Leistungen und persönliches Engagement in der Lehre“. Am 25. April 1997 erhält der Wirtschaftswissenschaftler Dr. Matthias Raith den erstmals verliehenen „Karl-Peter Grotemeyer-Preis“.

Prof. Dr. Karl Peter Grotemeyer (1927-2007), Rektor der Universität Bielefeld von 1970 bis 1992.

Fotograf: Manfred Kettner
Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 00591

Der Namensgeber
Professor Karl Peter Grotemeyer (1927-2007) war vom 5. März 1970 bis zum 30. September 1992 Rektor der Universität Bielefeld. Er gilt mit dieser Amtszeit als bislang dienstältester Rektor der Bundesrepublik, der neben den vielfältigen Belastungen an der Spitze der Universität ein begeisterter und begeisternder Hochschullehrer war. Auch während seiner Amtszeit als Rektor ließ er es sich nicht nehmen, Vorlesungen zu halten und Generationen von Studierenden selbst zu prüfen. Dies nahm die Universitätsgesellschaft zum Anlass, den Preis nach dem ungemein populären Rektor und Hochschullehrer zu benennen. Bereits seit Anfang der 1980er Jahre förderte sie Forschungsleistungen des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses durch die Auslobung von Dissertations- und Habilitationspreisen, nun kam der Lehrpreis neu hinzu.

Der erste Preisträger des Grotemeyer-Preises 1997: Dr. Matthias Raith, Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften.

Fotografin: Normal Langohr
Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, FOS 01330

Das Verfahren
Der Preis soll Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftlern der Universität Bielefeld, die nicht älter als 45 Jahre sind, verliehen werden, wobei alle Studierenden der Universität Bielefeld Vorschläge einreichen können. Die Jury bilden fünf Studierende, drei Lehrende, ein Mitglied der Universitätsgesellschaft sowie das Prorektorat für Studium und Lehre. Vorgeschlagen werden sollen Lehrende, denen es in besonderer Weise gelingt, die Studierenden zu motivieren, zu betreuen und zu unterstützen.

Prof. Dr. Miriam Lüken, Fakultät für Mathematik, zu ihrer Auszeichnung mit dem Karl Peter Grotemeyer-Preis 2017.

Quelle: Universität Bielefeld

Die Preisträger

Die Lehrenden der Fakultät für Linguistik und Literaturwissenschaft wurden bislang am häufigsten mit dem Grotemeyer-Preis ausgezeichnet, doch verteilen sich die übrigen Preisträgerinnen und Preisträger nahezu gleichmäßig auf die anderen Fakultäten. Fast alle Grotemeyer-Preisträgerinnen und -Preisträger – bis dato 12 Frauen und 11 Männer – sind in Ihren akademischen Karrieren erfolgreich, ein Beleg dafür, dass die „Qualität der Lehre“ mittlerweile zur wissenschaftlichen Reputation beiträgt. Entweder wirkt der Preis an dieser Stelle karrierefördernd oder aber Qualität setzt sich schon bei der Preisverleihung durch.

Aller guten Dinge sind drei: Erhielten im Jubiläumsjahr 2009 den Karl Peter Grotemeyer-Preis (v.l.): Dr. Matthias Lorenz (Fakultät für Linguistik und Literaturwissenschaften), Juniorprofessorin Dr. Christiane Werner Pinto (Fakultät für Biologie) und Dr. Björn Rüdiger (Fakultät für Rechtswissenschaft), dahinter (v.l.): Ortwin Goldbeck (Vorsitzender der Universitätsgesellschaft), Honorarprofessor Dr. h.c. Helmut Steiner (Geschäftsführer der Universitätsgesellschaft), Bernd-Christian Balz (Deutsche Bank) und Rektor Professor Dr. Dieter Timmermann.

Fotografin: Norma Langohr
Quelle: Universität Bielefeld

Eine Besonderheit gab es im 40jährigen Jubiläumsjahr der Universität. Das Rektorat ermöglichte, dass jeweils ein Preis für die Fächergruppen Geistes-, Gesellschafts- und Naturwissenschaft ausgelobt werden konnte, um den Grotemeyer-Preis im Jubiläumsjahr noch einmal deutlich hervorzuheben.