01.10.2006

“We live here now!” – Students occupy Rektorat in a reaction to tuition fees

Bielefeld University is one of 27 universities in NRW to introduce tuition fees at the start of the 2006/2007 winter semester. The state government of North Rhine-Westphalia has passed legislation to allow for the introduction tuition fees of up to 500 euros per semester. It leaves, however, the decision on the implementation of fees and the final amount to the discretion of the individual universities. At many universities there is massive resistance from the student body. Bielefeld University too experiences huge student protests in the run up to the fees’ introduction, including weeks of student occupation of the Rektorat corridor in the University’s main building.  

Poster of the Action Alliance on Tuition Fees, April 2005.

Source: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, PL 1/260

In spring 2006, Bielefeld opponents of the tuition fees occupied the premises of the Rektorat following a Senate session in the Audimax and camped out, among other places, in the office of Rektor Professor Dr. Dieter Timmermann. In addition, some parts of the University were vandalized and a member of the security staff had a master key stolen in a tussle.

The Rektorat regarded the additional funding from tuition fees as a means to improve the quality of studies and teaching. Despite all protests, the Senate of Bielefeld University decided on 13 July 2006 to introduce tuition fees. At the same time, they introduced a staggered system of payment. This meant that the longer a student had been enrolled at the University, the less they would have to pay, as they would profit less from the improvements in study and teaching than first-year students.

  • Two posters hang on the façade of the Rektor’s wing, March 2006.

    Photo: Norma Langohr
    Source: Universität Bielefeld
  • Protest camp against tuition fees in the Main University Hall, March 2006

    Photo: Norma Langohr
    Source: Universität Bielefeld
  • Information wall in front of the occupied Rektorat, March 2006.

    Photo: Norma Langohr
    Source: Universität Bielefeld
  • View into the barricaded corridor of the Rektorat, March 2006.

    Photo: Norma Langohr
    Source: Universität Bielefeld

After just one year, however, the staggered tuition fee system had to be revised. As part of a landmark lawsuit filed by a student to contest her tuition fees, the administrative court in Münster ruled that the staggered system violated the principle of equality. In response, the Senate of the University passed a new statute on tuition fees whereby every student was required to pay the same amount of 350 euros.

Tuition fees in North Rhine-Westphalia were abolished after a change of government in the winter semester of 2011/12.

Tags

Remmidemmi

01.10.2006

„Wir wohnen jetzt hier!“ – Rektoratsbesetzung als Reaktion auf Studienbeiträge

Zum Start des Wintersemesters 2006/2007 führt die Universität Bielefeld als eine von 27 Hochschulen in NRW Studienbeiträge ein. Die nordrhein-westfälische Landesregierung hatte die Einführung von Studienbeiträgen bis zu einer Höhe von 500 Euro pro Semester ermöglicht, die Entscheidung über die Einführung und die konkrete Höhe aber den einzelnen Hochschulen überlassen. An vielen Hochschulen gab es massiven Widerstand aus Reihen der Studierendenschaft. Auch an der Universität Bielefeld waren der Einführung Proteste vorausgegangen – unter anderem eine wochenlange Besetzung des Rektoratsflurs im Universitätshauptgebäude.

Plakat des Aktionsbündnisses Studiengebühren, April 2005.

Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, PL 1/260

Bielefelder Gegner der Studienbeiträge hatten im Frühjahr 2006 im Nachgang zu einer Senatssitzung im Audimax die Räumlichkeiten des Rektorats besetzt und unter anderem im Amtszimmer von Rektor Prof. Dr. Dieter Timmermann campiert, zudem kam es im Gebäude der Universität zu Vandalismus und bei einer Rangelei wurde einem Mitarbeiter des Sicherheitsdienstes ein Generalschlüssel gestohlen.

Ziel von Rektorats war es durch die zusätzlichen Finanzmittel die Qualität von Studium und Lehre verbessern. Am 13. Juli 2006 beschloss der Senat der Universität Bielefeld schließlich ungeachtet aller Proteste die Einführung von Studienbeiträgen. Gleichzeitig wurde eine Staffelung eingeführt. Je länger Studierende eingeschrieben seien, desto weniger sollten sie zahlen, da sie von den Verbesserungen in Studium und Lehre weniger profitierten als Studienanfänger.

  • Zwei Plakate hängen an der Fassade des Rektoratstrakts, März 2006.

    Fotografin: Norma Langohr
    Quelle: Universität Bielefeld
  • Protestcamp gegen Studiengebühren in der zentralen Halle, März 2006.

    Fotografin: Norma Langohr
    Quelle: Universität Bielefeld
  • Infowand vor dem besetzten Rektorat, März 2006.

    Fotografin: Norma Langohr
    Quelle: Universität Bielefeld
  • Blick in den verbarrikadierten Rektoratsflur, März 2006.

    Fotografin: Norma Langohr
    Quelle: Universität Bielefeld

Die gestaffelten Studienbeiträge in Bielefeld mussten allerdings nach einem knappen Jahr neu festgelegt werden. Im Rahmen einer Musterklage einer Studentin gegen ihren Zahlungsbescheid prüfte das Verwaltungsgericht Münster auch die gestaffelten Studienbeiträge an der Bielefelder Universität und entschied, dass die Staffelung gegen den Gleichheitsgrundsatz verstoße. Als Reaktion verabschiedete der Senat der Universität eine neue Beitragssatzung mit Studienbeiträgen von 350 Euro für alle Studierenden.

Die Studienbeiträge in Nordrhein-Westfalen wurden nach einem Regierungswechsel zum Wintersemester 2011/12 wieder abgeschafft.

Tags

Remmidemmi