11.11.2009

On the 40th anniversary: Occupation of the Audimax

Following a student plenary session on “Solidarity and Free Education” on 11 November 2009, around 100 students occupy the Audimax, the largest lecture hall at Bielefeld University. The protest is primarily directed against the economisation of universities in Germany, which students believe to have got out of hand, and the implementation of the BA/MA degree system.

Flyer of the AStA with the invitation to the student assembly on 11 November 2009 in the Audimax.

Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, PL1/324

After several requests by Rektor Prof. Dr. Gerhard Sagerer to vacate the auditorium fell on deaf ears, the University management called the police on the morning of 13 November. By that time, however, the Audimax had already been abandoned. The occupiers had been warned by “lookouts” and had evacuated the Audimax before the police could intervene.

Squatters in front of the Chile mural in the central hall of the university.

Photo: Miriam Scharlibbe
Source: Neue Westfälische

On 17 November, a demonstration took place with 1,000 participants at Rathausplatz, the town hall square in the centre of Bielefeld, as part of the nationwide education protests. Following the demonstration, about 300 students marched to the University and noisily interrupted the University’s 40th anniversary ceremony in the Audimax. The event was cancelled and the guests had to leave the Audimax under police protection. Rektor Sagerer approached the demonstrators in the Main University Hall and signalled his willingness to talk about the topics addressed. After a few rounds of talks, the heated situation in Bielefeld and throughout Germany calmed down.

Students have painted the word “Besetzt” (“occupied”) on the floor of the Audimax, November 2009.

Photo: Norma Langohr
Source: Universität Bielefeld

Tags

Remmidemmi

11.11.2009

Zum 40-jährigen Jubiläum: Besetzung des Audimax

Im Anschluss an eine studentische Vollversammlung zum Thema „Solidarität und freie Bildung“ besetzen am 11. November 2009 etwa 100 Studierende den größten Hörsaal der Universität Bielefeld, das Audimax. Der Protest richtet sich vor allem gegen die nach Ansicht von Studierenden zu starke Marktorientierung der Hochschulen in Deutschland und die Umsetzung des BA/MA-Systems.

Flugblatt des AStA mit der Einladung zur studentischen Vollversammlung am 11.11.2009 im Audimax.

Quelle: Universitätsarchiv Bielefeld, PL1/324

Nach mehreren Aufforderungen zur Räumung durch Rektor Prof. Dr. Gerhard Sagerer rief die Hochschulleitung am Morgen des 13. November die Polizei – doch da war der Audimax bereits verlassen. Die Besetzerinnen und Besetzer waren durch „Wachposten“ gewarnt worden und hatten vor dem polizeilichen Zugriff das Audimax geräumt.

Besetzerinnen und Besetzer vor dem Chile-Wandbild in der zentralen Halle der Universität.

Fotografin: Miriam Scharlibbe
Quelle: Neue Westfälische

Am 17. November folgte eine Demonstration mit 1.000 Teilnehmenden am Bielefelder Rathausplatz als Teil des bundesweiten Bildungsstreiks. Im Anschluss an die Demonstration marschierten etwa 300 Studierende zur Universität und störten dort durch massiven Lärm den Festakt zum 40-jährigen Jubiläum der Universität, der im Audimax stattfand. Die Veranstaltung wurde abgebrochen und die Gäste mussten das Audimax schließlich unter Polizeischutz verlassen. Rektor Sagerer wand sich in der Universitätshalle an die Demonstrierenden und signalisierte Gesprächsbereitschaft zu den angesprochenen Themen. Nach einigen Gesprächsrunden beruhigte sich die aufgeheizte Situation in Bielefeld und auch bundesweit.

Studierende haben das Wort BESETZT auf den Boden des Audimax gemalt, November 2009.

Fotografin: Norma Langohr
Quelle: Universität Bielefeld

Tags

Remmidemmi